RSS

Writing

20 May

“Hey, I saw your other blog. Isn’t your passion writing?” – random stranger

If only people would ask me questions. So I’m just asking one myself, it means another blog post after all.

Let me start by defining passion, so we’re all on the same page.

Passion (from the Ancient Greek verb πάσχω (paskho) meaning to suffer) is a term applied to a very strong feeling about a person or thing. Passion is an intense emotion compelling feeling, enthusiasm, or desire for something. (source: Wikipedia)

I don’t know if it’s because I suppress my feelings by default, or just because I haven’t found what I’m looking for yet, but I hardly ever feel passion. Above all, it doesn’t last. For me it’s a fleeting feeling I may have one moment, and which is gone the next. This is also one of the problems I’m facing on my journey. I’ll get into that in a later post.

So what’s the deal with writing? I like writing, I could say I love writing, but I’m not passionate about it. I can go days, weeks, maybe longer not feeling like writing at all. I’ve heard from plenty of other writers things like “if I don’t write I feel -insert negative emotion-“, or “I have to write every day to feel happy.” Not so much for me. Writing can feel like a drag, like a chore, even when I’m in full control of what I’m writing, where I’m writing, how long I’m writing.

Maybe it’s that I love procrastinating on almost everything. Maybe I’m not disciplined enough, not motivated enough. Mostly what I get is that I simply “don’t feel like doing it”. It’s feeling.

My life is a bit like this, I get enthusiastic about anything, do the effort for nothing and my enthusiasm is gone within a week of sparking. This means I never push through, maybe because I didn’t want to climb that hill, or because everything outside my comfort zone is scary. And many will say, it’s because it’s not what you truly want. If it’s something you truly want, you will go grab it.

I don’t believe it’s true. I think we humans are lazy and go the easy way. Whichever gives us a reward, some payoff as Dr. Phil would say, we keep doing that. Doesn’t matter if it’s a good habit or a bad habit. That’s why it’s so hard to change your life. If we figure out what we get from something, what our brain likes, we can look for alternatives.

Writing for me is a hobby. It’s not something I could do every day. It’s not something I could make a living out of. At least, as far as my view goes.
Why? Because I don’t want to write anything besides fiction and then I want to write my fiction, my stories. So unless I manage to write a book that would sell like crazy…

Can I make writing my passion? Perhaps. It just doesn’t seem like something I would like to pursue on a more serious basis.

Do you have something you wish you were more passionate about? What are ways you keep your enthusiasm/motivation going? Or do you struggle with that as well?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Writing

  1. Em

    May 20, 2012 at 12:26 pm

    In my view at least, I don’t think you have to want to write ALL THE TIME to be passionate about it. If you enjoy it, if you think about it sometimes in your free time, then it’s a passion of yours. I’ll go months and months without writing a word, and then I’ll suddenly go through a spurt of three days or so where I spend all my free time writing, or even just a little bit of it. It differs for everyone, really. I don’t draw, read, or write every day. Sometimes I won’t do either for a long time. For me, I have to really feel like I want to do them, they’re not something I can force. But, they’re still my passions; I enjoy them and I put my self into them when I do create. Plus, I suffer at their hands when things wont go right, so I guess that fits in with your definition!

     
    • Arisa

      May 21, 2012 at 9:06 am

      Thank you for your view! Maybe you’re right, but I take from the definition: “is a term applied to a very strong feeling about a person or thing.” And I don’t have a “very strong feeling” in my opinion.
      Also I feel that my passion should be something I could see myself doing as a job. Whether it’s realistic to earn money with it or not.
      Currently I feel I’m more struggling than not with my writing to keep a post per week up.

      Anyway, I don’t know. But my gut tells me it’s not what I’ve been looking for I guess.

       
      • Em

        May 21, 2012 at 10:54 am

        Fair enough :) Though, I don’t feel I could do drawing or writing for a living. My goal is to do it part-time amongst my other job. I’m sure you’ll find something, it’s just a matter of… trying stuff I guess n_n

         
        • Arisa

          May 21, 2012 at 12:25 pm

          Yes! And it’s a matter of not procrastinating on my journey too hahaha. I also think drawing and writing will remain my hobby, unless I write a bestseller or whatever. HAHA.
          Anyway, yes there’s plenty of trying involved! Well next post will actually be about my journey instead of me posting whatever haha.

           

What's your story?

