RSS

The job from…

01 Jul

In the book I’m reading (“I Could Do Anything, If Only I Knew What It Was,” by Barbara Sher) is an exercise to write your job from heaven and/or hell. Then discuss this with someone close to you or yourself. Today I want to share the results of this with all of you. This is a step into finding my passion and it will highlight the exact problem for me.

My job from heaven

I want to work in a team where everyone is enthusiastic about their work. The kind you see in making off videos of movies. I want to work with animals all day. I want to have flexible work hours. The ability to take a nap when my mind is overloaded. Or work deep into the night.
I want my job to be a “safe” adventure every day. I want to explore, discover and experience every day. I would work with a team that respected and encouraged each other. Who won’t put anyone down for being less brilliant than them or for making a mistake.

And there you have it! It’s exactly what I wrote when I did the exercise a few weeks back. This is exactly my problem. This describes my job environment/circumstances, but not what I actually do!
I decided to ask my mom to discuss it with me. I let her read the exercise and hoped she’d be able to help me.
To clue you in, if you have an internal critic putting you down, my mom can probably do it even worse! She’s brilliant at talking me out of almost anything (except getting a kitten hehe). (she’s a really good mom, also for this quality!)

The discussion between me and my mom

The goal of this discussion was for my mom to ask questions to get me to be more specific.
It was a long hard discussion, but as always when discussing things with my mom it was an eye opener.

“You love your comfort zone, but still you want to go on an adventure?”

“Mom you don’t get it, I want to get out of it.”

“Okay, but you want something safe.”

Later on we started to discuss job options. After mom kept pointing out the contradictions in my job from heaven.

“Okay so you want to work with animals all day, but you also want flexible hours.”

Then the talk about whether it was realistic. “No mom, it’s not about that.”

It came down to, I should probably work part-time, something with animals, and something else. Two part-time jobs for the variation. Yeah. No…..

I don’t know haha.

So after thinking it over I wrote the following afterward…

I will be a traveler.
I would be traveling wherever I wanted.
I would be helping animals where I can.
I would be writing books.
And I would be having an adventure every day. From a simple scroll or writing out a spiced up version of it to traveling to a new location.

Current musings

I just don’t feel it. If that book’s sentence “what you’re really supposed to be doing is whatever makes your heart sing” is true, then I’m far off from the truth. To be honest I still don’t know what makes my heart sing, nothing seems to make it sing.

Let me write out a few things about jobs from hell. And with it focus on real “jobs” instead of circumstances.

My job from hell

Writing program documentation.
Writing program design documents.
Anything physically heavy (think people making streets and such).
The same boring thing every day.
Anything that’s above my pace. (think high pressure, very tight deadlines)
Something without a clearly defined goal, purpose, or something like that.

I can go on with vague things, but really there’s nothing specific coming out of me. And don’t get me started on the job from heaven.

Introverted Sensing Feeling Perceiving

That header is my personality type. For those of you unfamiliar with it, it’s my Myers-Briggs Type Indicator.
If you are curious about your type, I took this test here to find out. I just checked the result on this website (which has a comparison for each possible letter) and found the answer made sense. Except maybe the Perceiving one, I think it could be either!

To be really short, this is my type’s explanation:

“Quiet, friendly, sensitive, and kind. Enjoy the present moment, what’s going on around them. Like to have their own space and to work within their own time frame. Loyal and committed to their values and to people who are important to them. Dislike disagreements and conflicts, do not force their opinions or values on others.”
Taken from this website

There is a ton of websites out there! Though I like PersonalityPage.com best for some reason, they have a lot of information. Including a list of possible jobs for my type!

  • Artist
    • (if I was a better one and could make money of it! This requires practice and patience.)
  • Musician / Composer
    • (I’m tone-deaf and no sense of rhythm, so that’s not really gonna work.)
  • Designer
    • (possible, as with artist)
  • Child Care / Early Childhood Development
    • (children and I don’t really hit it off at first, I really need to warm up to them first, but possible maybe)
  • Social Worker / Counselor
    • (I… I don’t really know what to say about that!)
  • Teacher
    • (oh please no haha, see above about kids, plus as they get older… no thanks!)
  • Psychologist
    • (very possible! I’m very interested in psychology. Not really sure what would be my career choice though)
  • Veterinarian
    • (this was my dream job for a big part of my childhood! But I don’t think I’m really fit for the emotional  burden of it)
  • Forest Ranger
    • (not sure about this one haha!)
  • Pediatrician
    • (I think this is the counter argument for teacher and vet combined….)

So there you have it! I think I should go looking in some of these options!
The second part of the exercise from the book is to take an hour and fully commit to a choice you make.

Let me give you a bit more overview here! I can look into:

  • Artist/Designer
  • Social Worker/Counselor
  • Psychologist
  • Forest Ranger

For the coming week I will be looking into Psychologist. It’s the one I feel most for and so a logical choice.
The goal is to present my findings next Sunday. I will be looking into topics like career choices and education.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

What's your story?

