RSS

Sporting can fry your mind

13 Jan

I was supposed to write a blog post before today, but I didn’t.

This morning I went “bouldering” (which is climbing, but without a rope or other equipment for that matter).
It was scary, yes 4 meters of wall without security is much more scary than 8 meters of wall with security.
Somehow I did manage to “solve” one “problem” (that’s what they call the routes). It was one of the routes marked “easy” so to say. (for those knowing the grades, it was a 3+ problem)

I’m home now, tired, happy I did do that, but also very sluggish, and feeling out of touch.
It’s as if my thinking took a backseat. My brain also needs a rest after this intense sporting experience.
So I had planned a different post, but it’s not willing to come out of my mind for this week.

I’m definitely going to continue climbing. I signed up for a top-roping course. (the climbing you mostly see in indoor halls). It won’t start until March 4th though, but I’m really looking forward to it!

I’ve been just really into exercising lately, so most of my focus is on that.
January 1st I started a “burpee challenge” where the aim is to do burpees for 100 days, adding 1 burpee every day. So today is day 13, meaning I had to do 13 burpees. Which I did, even though I climbed. This means that so far I’ve done 91 burpees.

For those unfamiliar, this is a burpee.
Only since I can’t do a push up yet, I replace that part with a knee push up. The basic idea is to squat, get your chest to the ground, return to a squat and then jump in the air. Scale to your level pretty much.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 13, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Sporting can fry your mind

  1. Em

    January 15, 2013 at 2:02 am

    That does sound exciting! You’re much braver than I am :”)

     

What's your story?

