RSS

The UP, a leg injury and walking every 30 min

03 Jul

I visited New York. I had a blast there, it was truly awesome. I went there with my mom and aunt. The main point is that my mom got all three of us a Jawbone UP. An advanced pedometer of sorts.

Upon returning from that trip, I somehow injured my leg as I got up out of the airplane seat. I had it checked out, my calf muscle is hurt and I need to use that muscle normally to heal it. I have a desk job. Using that muscle would require me to walk more often.

This is where the UP comes in. It has an idle alarm that you can set to alert you (by means of vibrating) when you’ve been inactive for a particular amount of time. I’ve set it up to notify me at 30 minutes of inactivity.

This mean that, while I have a desk job, I get up every 30 minutes at least and walk up and down the hallway. This makes sure my calf muscle doesn’t get stiff and tight, but it also seems to come with a number of other benefits.

I’m obviously more active. But also other desk sitting related problems (like shoulder pain and my hand turning ice cold) have lessened. I have a fingerless glove I can wear to counteract my hand from turning to ice and hurting, I haven’t been needing to wear it.

It’s quite amazing how a little change can have such an impact.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “The UP, a leg injury and walking every 30 min

  1. Sean Carley

    July 3, 2013 at 9:53 am

    That is awesome. I’m glad it is making such a difference.

     
    • Arisa

      July 5, 2013 at 10:36 am

      Yes :D It’s really wonderful!

       

What's your story?

